International Women’s Day. Who you celebrating?

illumination3On 8th March each year the world celebrates International Women’s Day. It is marked by various celebrations in different countries of the world. Posters and quotes that hint at respect, appreciation and love towards women flood the internet on this particular day. This is not forgetting praises about women’s economic, political and social achievements.

Most, if not all of us have a woman in our lives. It could be a mother, guardian, sister, girlfriend, wife or even a friend.  How do we treat them?

In my opinion, such celebrations were put in place to make us revise our relationships with the women in our lives. When was the last time you talked to her? Took her out? Bought her a gift? Supported her or even said I love you? If it has not been recent, it’s about time you step up. Don’t do it just for show because it’s international Women’s Day, do it because it’s the right thing to do. Women go through a lot of pain to see us succeed in life. I know the contrary is also possible, and that’s where we make the decision to drop those who are out to bring our downfall. Who are you celebrating today? As for me they come in the following order:

My MOM: She’s the first lady I met when I was born. Plump as I was she took good care of me especially when my veins proves hard to find when I suffered meningitis at 9 months. I have an injection scar to prove it. She’s been there for me over the years and she’s the best gift for me from Heaven. I’d be liar if I’m to say we have been tight all through the years, but she’s still my number Uno (1).

My other MOM: I have two moms 🙂 the first one is my biological mom and now this one is my other mom. That’s the best I can describe her. She has seen me through good and bad moments.

My cousins: They are three sisters. We have a one year age difference and they serve as my actual sisters (the one’s I never had) All things you think age mates can do, we have done it all. No profanities and drugs though.

My bae: She is my bestie forever, not even distance can separate us. Her name is Pat and she’s the sweetest pal I have ever had. We share good and bad times;  prayer is what has guided this wonderful friendship all through.

Female Followers: Josie has to come on top of the list. We have spoken on our blogs and emails.  My other female followers follow. They have given me a reason to blog, challenged me to be better and showed me love. Thank you all ❤ 😀

The general woman fraternity – Happy International Women’s Day.

6 thoughts on “International Women’s Day. Who you celebrating?

  1. Awww I love this so much! I’m glad we share a mutual appreciation for each other sis <3. I didn't know about today being International Women's Day UNTIL today. I was so happy to see ladies sharing love with one another.

Leave a Reply

