Phie the Chicken- phobe

P1010525Phobia, we all have it. I use this statement precisely since i am yet to encounter a single person who doesn’t have fear or a dislike for particular things. You might be thinking that your phobia(s) is strange. Try checking it online, you will find that there are other people suffering from the same predicament.

Out of the many phobias I have, one utterly stands out. Chicken! These little birds make me have mad respect for the entire animal fraternity. Right from a tender age, I used to freak out whenever I came face-to-face with chicken. Simple reason- one scratched me so bad when I was a little girl.

I had been a flower girl during my aunts wedding when this happened. I was only five. The day had been so long for a five year old. Worst part was being in the center of the whole action. By the time I was going to bed, I was completely wasted! I remember being tucked in bed. In the morning, it was a whole different story. I usually sleep with all of my body covered; including my head. I was woken up by noises of people conversing loudly and lively. I could also hear people’s footsteps as they dragged their slippers on the floor. I instantly knew i was no longer in bed. True to my suspicion, I was actually in the living room.

It is only natural that presents would be brought to newlyweds. They came in all manner and sorts. One of the presents was actually a live chicken! Before I could uncover my head and get up from my sleeping bag, I heard a cock-a-doodle-do. Call it tension! I was so tense, all my senses came alive.
I knew I was safe as long as I stayed under the covers, but for how long? I had to get up all the same and go farther away from this creature I have ‘respect’ for. The cock-a-doodle-do became louder as if the rooster was right next to me. I struggled to cover every part of my tiny body. Unfortunately, my elbow was still sticking out. I was hot like someone with a fever; I could not feel the breeze on my elbow. The bird was also getting irritated too. It could not understand what was happening under the covers as I was tossing from side to side.

My worst fear was confirmed when the rooster climbed on top of the covers. None of the people I was hearing around wanted to help. How could they be so insensitive? I forgive them maybe they thought nobody is scared of chicken. The hen scratched my elbow like they do on the ground. Ouch! That was painful. I immediately came out of the covers and ran for cover. It wasn’t funny! People were actually mad that I reacted that way. Thank God I was a kid, they forgave my naivety.

Over the years, I have crafted ways of dealing with my phobias. But with chicken, nothing seems to work. I always give way whenever I encounter them. Recently my mom brought some chicken home (live ones). I just discovered I can’t still stand them! People think I am being ‘kid-ish’ for not shaking off this fear. Truth is I am not. This recent incident made me travel back in time to discover where the fear came from in the first place.

The next time you encounter someone who fears what you don’t, don’t be quick to judge them. Sit them down and try and find out how that fear came about. You will be surprised the stories you will hear.

Have a happy day!

2 thoughts on “Phie the Chicken- phobe

Leave a Reply

